25 April 2022

Guided tour of the Saint-Germain-des-Prés district

Hello and welcome to this new guided tour of a district of Paris by New York Habitat.

Today we're going to visit a lively district of Paris and a fashionable place: Saint-Germain-des-Prés. This episode is the first of a trilogy devoted to Saint-Germain-des-Prés, of which the other two parts are as follows:

Play Video
Play Video

Located just south of the Seine and west of the Latin Quarter, Saint-Germain-des-Prés was once occupied by a large monastery and a small town.

The monastery was founded in 532 by Childebert, the second king of France. Although it became prosperous and powerful, the monastery did not survive the Viking raids of the 9th century.

The monks camped in the ruins until 990, when the monastery was rebuilt by King Robert the Pious. The town between the monastery and the city was very lively. Theatres even appeared.

In the 17th century, the city had already become an artistic and literary centre and was able to host Lully's first opera, Molière's first plays and the first Comédie Française.

The construction of the Romanesque church of Saint-Germain-des-Prés began around the year 1000 and it is one of the oldest churches in Paris. The rounded arches, small windows and thick bell tower walls are typical of the Romanesque style.

The Saint-Germain-des-Prés district quickly became a meeting place for artists, intellectuals and writers.

As early as the 17th century the village was home to writers such as Racine and La Rochefoucauld. In the 19th century painters such as Delacroix and Manet and writers such as Balzac also settled here, as did Benjamin Franklin and Oscar Wilde.

In the 1920s, many Americans were attracted by the charm of this neighbourhood. Even Hemingway and his wife lived here and Henry Miller was often here as well.

Later Picasso moved here and it was here that he painted Guernica.

Life here is concentrated in the centre of the square in front of the church and in three famous cafés in the vicinity. The square is a popular meeting place, often with musicians and sculptures on display. Les Deux Magots, 6 place de L'Église Saint-Germain-des-Prés, takes its name from the two Chinese statues that have been on display inside since the café was a silk shop. When it opened, the café was a favourite of poets such as Verlaine and Rimbaud.

In the 1930s, Picasso also liked to come here. In the late 1930s, the café was frequented by the existentialist philosopher Jean Paul Sartre and the writers Camus and Prévert.

Once the café became a favourite of the German occupiers in Paris, Sartre and his colleagues abandoned it for the Café de Flore a block away at 172 Boulevard Saint-Germain. The owner made the first floor available to them for sitting, sipping coffee and writing. It was here that Sartre wrote his famous treatise: Being and Nothingness. The other famous place to stop for a drink is the Brasserie Lipp, across the street at 151 Boulevard St-Germain. It was popular with poets André Gide and Paul Valéry in the 1920s and it was here that Hemingway wrote A Farewell to Arms.

The Institut de France at 23 quai Conti, with its distinctive dome, was built in the 17th century for Louis XIV's first minister, Mazarin. It now houses the 5 French academies of arts and sciences.

Of course, the best way to live like a Parisian is to rent a furnished flat in the heart of this famous district, such as this superb holiday rental located in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Prés. Don't forget that New York Habitat offers other furnished rentals in Saint-Germain-des-Prés and everywhere in ParisWhether it's a holiday rental or furnished flats.

We hope you have enjoyed the Saint-Germain-des-Prés area, where culture and history meet.

Thank you for taking this tour with New York Habitat.

We hope to see you soon in the streets of Saint-Germain-des-Prés.

Leave a Reply

#thegov_button_664eacfa4ff9b { color: rgba(0,0,0,1); }#thegov_button_664eacfa4ff9b:hover { color: rgba(49,49,49, 1); }#thegov_button_664eacfa4ff9b { border-color: rgba(255,255,255,1); background-color: rgba(255,255,255,1); }#thegov_button_664eacfa4ff9b:hover { border-color: rgba(255,255,255,1); background-color: rgba(255,255,255,1); }

25 avril 2022

Visite Guidée du Quartier de Saint-Germain-des-Prés

Bonjour et bienvenue pour cette nouvelle visite guidée d’un quartier de Paris par New York Habitat.

Aujourd’hui, nous allons visiter un quartier animé de Paris et un endroit à la mode : Saint-Germain-des-Prés. Cet épisode est le premier d’une trilogie consacrée à Saint-Germain-des-Prés, dont voici les deux autres volets :

Lire la vidéo
Lire la vidéo

Situé juste au sud de la Seine et à l’ouest du Quartier Latin, Saint-Germain-des-Prés était autrefois occupé par un grand monastère et un petit bourg.

Le monastère fut fondé en 532 par Childebert, le second roi de France. Bien que devenu prospère et puissant, le monastère ne survécut aux raids Viking du 9ème siècle.

Les moines campèrent dans les ruines jusqu’en 990, quand le monastère fut reconstruit par le roi Robert le Pieu. Le bourg situé entre le monastère et la ville était très vivant. Des théâtres firent même leur apparition.

Au 17ème siècle, la ville, devenue un centre artistique et littéraire, avait déjà pu accueillir le premier opéra de Lully, les premières pièces de Molière et la première Comédie Française.

La construction de l’église Saint-Germain-des-Prés, de style roman a commencé aux alentours de l’an 1000, c’est l’une des plus anciennes de Paris. Les arches arrondies, les petites fenêtres et les épais murs du clocher sont typiques du style roman.

Le quartier de Saint-Germain-des-Prés est rapidement devenu le rendez-vous des artistes, des intellectuels et des écrivains.

Dès le 17ème siècle le village a accueilli des écrivains comme Racine ou La Rochefoucauld. Au 19ème siècle des peintres comme Delacroix ou Manet et des écrivains comme Balzac se sont également installés ici, tout comme Benjamin Franklin et Oscar Wilde.

Dans les années 1920, de nombreux américains ont été attirés par le charme de ce quartier. Même Hemingway et sa femme ont habité ici et Henry Miller s’y trouvait souvent également.

Plus tard, Picasso à déménagé ici et c’est ici qu’il a peint Guernica.

La vie ici est regroupée au centre de la place en face de l’église et dans 3 fameux cafés des alentours. La place est un lieu de rendez-vous populaire, on y retrouve souvent des musiciens et des sculptures exposées. Les Deux Magots, 6 place de L’Église Saint-Germain-des-Prés, tient son nom des deux statues chinoises exposées à l’intérieur depuis l’époque où le café était une boutique de soie. A son ouverture, ce café était le favori de poètes comme Verlaine et Rimbaud.

Dans les années 1930, Picasso aimait également venir ici. Vers la fin des années 1930, le café était fréquenté par le philosophe existentialiste Jean Paul Sartre et les écrivains Camus et Prévert.

Une fois le café est devenu l’un des favoris des occupants allemands à Paris, Sartre et ses collègues l’abandonnèrent pour le Café de Flore un pâté de maisons plus loin au 172 Boulevard Saint-Germain. Le propriétaire leur mettait à disposition le premier étage pour s’asseoir, siroter un café et écrire. C’est ici que Sartre à écrit son fameux traité : L’être et le néant L’autre fameux lieu pour s’arrêter boire un coup est la Brasserie Lipp, de l’autre coté de la rue au 151 Boulevard St-Germain. Il était apprécié des poètes André Gide et Paul Valéry dans les années 1920 et c’est ici qu’Hemingway à écrit A Farewell to Arms.

L’institut de France au 23 quai Conti, avec son dôme distinctif, a été construit au 17ème siècle pour le premier ministre de Louis XIV, Mazarin. Il abrite aujourd’hui les 5 académies françaises des arts et des sciences.

Bien sur, le meilleur moyen de vivre comme un parisien est de louer un appartement meublé au cœur de ce fameux quartier, tel que cette superbe location de vacances située en plein cœur de Saint-Germain-des-Prés. N’oubliez pas que New York Habitat offre d’autres locations meublées à Saint-Germain-des-Prés et partout dans Paris, que ce soient des locations de vacances ou des appartements meublés.

Nous espérons que vous avez apprécié le quartier de Saint-Germain-des-Prés, où se côtoient la culture et l’histoire.

Merci d’avoir suivi cette visite guidée par New York Habitat.

Nous espérons vous croiser bientôt dans les rues de Saint-Germain-des-Prés.

Laisser un commentaire